Skilled Workers and Professionals

Immigration has always helped to make Canada’s economy strong and prosperous. To continue this tradition, Canada encourages skilled worker applications for Permanent Residence from people with skills, education and work experience that will contribute to the Canadian economy.

Skilled workers are selected as permanent residents based on their education, work experience, knowledge of English and/or French, and other criteria that have been shown to help them become economically established in Canada.

All applicants must meet the following minimal requirements to apply as a skilled worker:

  1. They must have at least one year of continuous full-time, paid work experience or the equivalent in part-time continuous employment·
  2. They must have had this experience within the last 10 years·
  3. The work experience must be Skill Type 0 (managerial occupations) or Skill Level A (professional occupations) or B (technical occupations and skilled trades) on the Canadian National Occupation Classification (NOC).

The application to come to Canada as a skilled worker will also be assessed against a point system consisting of six selection factors. The six selection factors are:

Factor 1 Education Maximum 25 points
Factor 2 Ability in English and or French Maximum 24 points
Factor 3 Experience Maximum 21 points
Factor 4 Age Maximum 10 points
Factor 5 Arranged employment in Canada Maximum 10 points
Factor 6 Adaptability Maximum 10 points
Total Maximum 100 points
Pass Mark 67 points

The current pass mark is 67 points for all factors combined. If an applicant’s score is the same or higher than the pass mark, then he/she may qualify to immigrate to Canada as a skilled worker.

As of May 1, 2014, there is an overall cap of 25,500 for new federal skilled worker applications. This includes a cap of 500 applications from PhD students. There are also sub-caps of 1,000 for each of the 50 eligible occupations. The caps do not affect people with a valid job offer. These are the last applications CIC will accept under the current system before Express Entry launches in January 2015.